Conference Details

Dates:

- Abstract Submission: 25 March 2008 Now Extended to 4 April !
- Notification to Authors: 3 June 2008
- Final Program: 1 July 2008
- Fees: Early Registration \$535 USD on or before 15 September 2008 Late Registration \$585 USD after 15 September 2008 Registration closed 6 October 2008 Venue: National Composites Center Accommodations & Travel: see website for details

Additional Conference Activities

Pre-Conference: 19 October, see website for details Reception: 20 October, Engineer's Club of Dayton Banquet: 21 October, National Museum of the U.S. Air Force Family Activities: see website for details





Co-Chaired by

David Mollenhauer (AFRL) AFRL.MLB.OfficeAccount@wpafb.af.mil



Steve Donaldson (UD) steven.donaldson@notes.udayton.edu

4th International Conference of



20-22 October 2008 Dayton Ohio, USA

• Call for Papers



Co-Chaired by:

- The U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory
- The University of Dayton

http://academic.udayton.edu/stevendonaldson/comptest2008.html



This conference unites the international scientific community working in the field of testing and modeling of composites. It is commonly known that testing heterogeneous and anisotropic materials and structures presents a number of challenges to researchers, including the identification of numerous parameters, the development of specific test fixtures (shear, compression, fracture toughness), and the control of parasitic effects. As a consequence, the development of testing and model identification procedures is broadly recognized as an interesting and important area. Recent developments in optical whole-field measurement techniques (speckle interferometry, digital image correlation, etc.) and in-situ damage monitoring (acoustic emission, optical fiber sensors) open a broad field of investigation. Testing and identification procedures for composites have to be adapted to make full use of the data provided by whole-field methods. Testing to determine other physical parameters, such as, thermal expansion, critical values of thermodynamic forces, cure shrinkage, and moisture adsorption also poses considerable challenges.

The objective of the conference is to provide the opportunity for informal scientific exchange on the subject of composite material testing and model identification. It is organized in a single-session presentation format with extended poster-session and discussion periods. The first two CompTest conferences were held in Châlons-en-Champagne (France) in January 2003 and Bristol (U.K.) in September 2004, respectively. The most recent CompTest conference, held in Porto (Portugal) in April 2006, attracted over 100 participants from Academia, Government, and Industry from many countries. For CompTest 2008, we invite you to join us in Dayton, Ohio (USA), home of the Wright Brothers and extensive innovation in research, development, and manufacturing.

Relevant Topics

The conference will focus on all issues related to identifying parameters for modeling the mechanical & physical behavior of composite materials. Particular attention will be given to innovative identification procedures, interactions between testing and modeling, in-situ damage monitoring, and the use of wholefield measurements. All composite materials may be addressed (polymer, cement, ceramic, metallic matrices, carbon, glass, boron, natural fibers, wood, etc).

Proceedings

In keeping the conference informal, there will be no paper proceedings. A book of abstracts will be available and electronic presentations will be distributed on CD-ROM. The scientific committee will propose a selection of papers for publication in *Composites Part A: Applied Science and Manufacturing*.

Conference Chairmen

- Dr. David Mollenhauer, Air Force Research Laboratory (USA) Chairman
- Prof. Steven Donaldson, University of Dayton (USA) Chairman
- Prof. Michael Wisnom, University of Bristol (UK) Vice Chairman
- Prof. Fabrice Pierron, ENSAM Chalons (France) -Vice Chairman

International Scientific Committee

Dr. Lars Berglund, KTH (Sweden) Prof. John Botsis, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland) Dr. Bill Broughton, NPL (UK) Prof. Pedro Camanho, University of Porto (Portugal) Prof. Josep Costa, University of Girona (Spain) Dr. Brian Cox, Teledyne Scientific (USA) Dr. Peter Davies, IFREMER (France) Dr. Carlos Davila, NASA Langlev Research Center (USA) Prof. Bongtae Han, University of Maryland (USA) Prof. Masamichi Kawai, Tsukuba University (Japan) Prof. Gianni Nicoletto, University of Parma (Italy) Dr. Ran Kim, University of Dayton Research Institute (USA) Prof. Woo II Lee, Seoul National University (South Korea) Prof. Stepan Lomov, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium) Prof. Ozden Ochoa, Texas A&M University (USA) Prof. Ivana Partridge, Cranfield University (UK) Prof. Anoush Poursartip, U. British Columbia (Canada) Prof. Paul Robinson, Imperial College (United Kingdom) Prof. Bhavani Sankar, University of Florida (USA) Dr. Bent F. Sørensen, Risø DTU (Denmark) Prof. Vijay Srivastava, Banarus Hindu University (India) Prof. C.T. Sun, Purdue University (USA) Prof. Janis Varna, Lulea University of Technology (Sweden) Prof. Alain Vautrin, ENSM St-Etienne (France) Prof. Anthony Waas, University of Michigan (USA) Dr. Chun Wang, DSTO (Australia)

Local Organizing Committee

- Barbara Hager, Air Force Research Laboratory (USA) Dr. Endel Iarve, University of Dayton Research Institute (USA) Dr. Greg Schoeppner, Air Force Research Laboratory (USA)
- Dr. Jim Whitney, University of Dayton Emeritus (USA)

